Posted in Food for Thoughts

Throw Your Cares To The Wind

prayer-papers-sichuan-china_83595_990x742

“I’m throwing everything to the wind – all my hopes, my cares, my dreams, my ambitions. I am no longer concerned about what will happen in the future.” These are my words. But it doesn’t mean that I am losing hope nor I am giving up on my dreams. It means I am laying them down to the Maker and Perfecter of my future and casting all my cares on Him.

Some of us have lived a planned and well-laid out life. I myself have been guilty of intense planning, not to mention about worrying about what the future may be. When someone would ask me what I will be 5years after, I would definitely answer the question without batting my lashes. I know the answer back then. But now at 28, the past two years has changed me. When I would be asked what would I be five years from now, all I could give is “I really have no idea.” You see the life I was planning to have is just all in my mind, a fraction of my hyper-imaginative brain cells.

For two years, I live a life full of surprises. It seems like everything that has happened has no pattern, no elaborate plan, and no definite purpose. But that’s just how I see it. I have faith in God and I know that all these things that are happening is my life is God’s way of knocking me down and waking me up from all those nonsense planning and endless worrying.

I am a worrier. I worry a lot. When I was small, I worried about what I will get in my exams and quizzes so I make it a point that I have a complete copy of all the notes before the exam and I made reviews on our lessons. When I was in High School, I worry about what I will take in college or where will I study. When I finished college, I worry if I would get a job or where will I find one. It’s an endless battle of future thoughts and preparations that when I look back to my life now, I regretted all the worrying that I made. It has made my life so boring. I feel like I have lived my entire life inside a shell, a protective covering of all my plans and future preparations that I end up living in the future instead of enjoying the present.

And so, for two years, I decide to jump into the unknown and I realized that living a life where you are not in control is enjoyable. You get surprises everyday and you always end the day with a thankful heart that you survived. Because in the first place, these lives that we have right now are really not ours, we are just stewards of this earth, a temporary living creature that would soon perish and die. God has placed us here to live a purpose that He intended for us. It is God’s plan that we are here and He wants us to enjoy this life because sooner or later we will leave this place. And what’s sadder than dying is to die without even being able to live a full life.

So throw your cares to the wind. Let tomorrow worry about itself. Believe that the Great Maker, the maker of Heaven and Earth will never let you suffer. He will take care of you. Enjoy this gift of the present. Never let the past haunt you nor the future troubled you. Life is meant to be enjoyed. Trust that God holds that future in His hands and He will make everything perfect according to His plans. So throw all those future plans away because God has a better, more secure, and 100% fool-proof plan for your life.

Stay in Love. Stay in God’s Love

Sarah Dawn 🙂

PHOTO CREDIT: National Geographic

Author:

Expressing thoughts better through paper and ink (INTROVERT). Striving to follow the footsteps of Christ (CHRISTIAN). Choosing lyrics over rhythm; always choosing county songs (COUNTRY SONG LOVER). Dreaming of setting foot in all islands of the world (WANDERLUST).

Leave a Reply

