Posted in Food for Thoughts

Day 1: Your response to everyone’s favorite question: “And why are YOU still single?”

 

Your response to everyone’s favorite question: “And why are YOU still single?”

This question has been around lately, especially around gatherings this Holiday Season. It has been asked in different forms and variations but still invoke the same meaning, not to mention the tone to which this question implies. I find this question rather funny at this point in my life. Although at first, I must admit that the question carries a tone that somewhat implies like something is wrong with me especially when the construction of the question goes something like “you are such a lovely and intelligent person. But why are you still single?.” It seems to imply that I’m PERFECT yet I’m incapable of having a successful relationship, let alone having one. Well here’s the Breaking News: I’m not perfect. And inasmuch as I want my life to, like how the society has created a perfect  picture of how a woman in my age suppose to be, I can’t because I don’t want to live a life patterned by the ideals of this world.

At this point in my life, I find this question funny yet irritating. I couldn’t fully understand as to where this question is really coming from. Like why would other people be so upset if I am still single. Why would they be so obsessed about thinking what’s wrong with me or what is the reason why I’m still single? Pardon me but why can’t they just mind their own business? In all honesty, I want to give that response every time someone would ask me. Like why would they care? I just can’t seem to voice that kind of response in a tone that you’re probably thinking right now, especially around people I highly respect.

But I think I have to ponder on this question rather thoroughly this time. This blogging challenge have thought-provoking questions, some of which I am trying to avoid by responding to it with sarcasm than honesty. So why am I still single? Honestly? I really don’t know. I believe everyone has that desire to be with someone, to have someone they can go home to. I, myself, am no exemption. But sometimes, there are circumstances that will hinder the fulfillment of our inner desires at the moment no matter how badly we want it to happen. I know that God’s timing is always perfect. He is neither late nor one-minute ahead (Ecclesiastes 3:1).

So back to the question at hand. Why am I really single? If I could give one honest answer it would be that I’m too picky and too stubborn to just settle for what’s convenient or what’s available. I am obsessed with fairytale endings and I know I am a princess who deserves to have one. I don’t want to just be in a relationship because I am lonely or is in need of a rebound from a current failed relationship. I wanted my love life to be crafted according to God’s masterplan that I refuse to be in a relationship which I feel isn’t part of His plan. If only I could give this kind of answer. If only people would understand where I stand on this issue in my life.

But I guess, some people will always be the people that this society has shaped. And this world will always be packed with those kind of people who would stare at others accusingly, thinking that there’s something wrong with them just because they’re still single. So never lower your standard just for you to fit into the standard of this world. YOU WILL NEVER FIT INTO THIS WORLD’S STANDARDS. This world will always look for something that is wrong in you. You will always be too white or too dark-skinned, too tall or too short, too fat or too skinny, and you will never be perfect if you’re not a SIZE 2. So live according to your own standards instead. And never let the glitter of faux diamonds hinder your real and authentic glow. Stand up and shine coz you have a fine jewel in your crown.

So the next time someone would ask me why I’m still single, I would say that I haven’t meet the right one who will change my status just yet. As what The Single Woman always said, “You’re too fabulous to settle.”And yes, I am!

Stay in love! Stay in God’s love!

Dawn 🙂

——-

Today is Day 1 of The Single Woman’s 30-Day Blogging Challenge. Feel free to do the challenge with me. You may also want to mention me in your posts (using this link: www.princesslifeivities.wordpress.com) so that I also get to read your thoughts about the topics.

Photo Credit: thesinglewoman.net

Author:

Expressing thoughts better through paper and ink (INTROVERT). Striving to follow the footsteps of Christ (CHRISTIAN). Choosing lyrics over rhythm; always choosing county songs (COUNTRY SONG LOVER). Dreaming of setting foot in all islands of the world (WANDERLUST).

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Your response to everyone’s favorite question: “And why are YOU still single?”

Leave a Reply

