Posted in Food for Thoughts

Day 2: Describe a moment or a day when being single really sucked.

A day when being single really sucked.

I am always fine with being single. I never had any problems with that before. But I think you’re fine with being single if all your life you’ve been single. You will never get to compare how it feels to be with someone therefore, you will never long for something you haven’t felt before.

I was like that. I am fine with being on my own until I experienced being with someone else. And that’s how the story changes. And this is where this challenge really become so real.

I used to go on an afternoon jog in one of the Sports Centers near my place. I am fine with that. I enjoyed doing that for quite some time. It’s one of my “me time” where I get to pamper myself, listen to my favorite workout playlist uninterrupted, and I get to clear my mind. I have that inclination to do strenuous activities when I wanted to clear my thoughts, like go for a walk or go to the gym. It takes away the clatter from my brain.

But just recently, well a few months after I had my first broken-heart, I went for a jog to clear my mind. I was too preoccupied with thoughts on where to find a new job. I was so excited to go to the Sports Center because I know jogging would really help. I was in the oval, surrounded by a lot of people doing their afternoon run, too focused on my running time when suddenly a different song start playing on my headset. It’s the song entitled Love by Amber Hunter. And on that very moment, I became aware of my surroundings. There were couples stretching on the side of the track. I passed by another holding hands while walking on the track. I even noticed lovers sitting on the bleachers taking some rest. In that instant, I really felt bad for myself because I feel like I am so alone.

It sucked to see others so happy together while I struggled to figure out why  we didn’t work out. It sucked to do things on you’re own when I get to experience how it feels to do it with someone else. Simple things became so complicated because of the surge of emotions, something that’s so foreign from what I used to have.

So I left the Sports Center, I just have to. I need to clear out my mind, refocus my thoughts and rediscover the advantages of being alone and single again, being in that place at that time isn’t so much of help. I know at this point where a heart-break is still fresh, it really sucked being single and the struggle is real. But I know I will be happy again. I will be able to appreciate the essence of this moment in my life. I usually end up seeing things on the brighter side. And if I fail, God is always there to remind me that this season in my life is never permanent. Things will change pretty soon.

I hope you will be able to see and rediscover the essence of real and authentic happiness. That real happiness that is not dependent on the people around you but with the overflowing happiness that Jesus brings.

Never let bad circumstances rob you from being happy. Life is too awesome to be spent on unnecessary thoughts and unwanted emotions. I hope you’ll see the beauty in you and feel that overflowing love Christ offers.

Stay in love! Stay in God’s love.

Dawn 🙂

Author:

Expressing thoughts better through paper and ink (INTROVERT). Striving to follow the footsteps of Christ (CHRISTIAN). Choosing lyrics over rhythm; always choosing county songs (COUNTRY SONG LOVER). Dreaming of setting foot in all islands of the world (WANDERLUST).

Leave a Reply

