Posted in Food for Thoughts

Day 3:Describe a moment or a day when being single was really awesome

 

A moment or a day when being single was really awesome.

I never really have any problems with being single. For me, being single equals freedom. I get to do what I want anytime I want to. There’s no one to ask permission to [except of course when I was still a minor where parent’s permission is required] when I made decisions and arrangements, no schedules to consider, no one to depend on except myself. Except of course on some tiny moments when I feel a longing from the depths of my heart. But you see, these longings are normal, they’re a gift from God. I believe He made us that way because He made us to love Him and to love others.

But don’t get me wrong. Being with someone is one of the best things anyone could ever have. Yet I also believe that being single is one of the best seasons in one’s life. I met with some great friends yesterday by the beach and we were teasing each other as to how our love life were doing these days. And I was struck when he answered, “I am in relationship with my passion.” It made me become more convinced that happiness does not depend on our relationship status. Happiness comes from within us that no matter who we’re with, or without,  we can still find happiness.

Maybe for me, every moment where I get to spend time with friends and family, when I know I own my time and that I get to spend it anywhere and with anyone I want, is the moment where I can really say that being single is awesome. Maybe you might react. Maybe you’ll say “but you can still get to spend time with friends and family anytime and anywhere even if you are with someone else.” Yes, I still can. But I cannot really say that I own my time 100 percent. When we’re with someone, we can no longer decide on our own, that would be selfish. We need to consider our partner’s thoughts and decisions too. Sometimes, we might need to compromise, so that we can meet half way with what we both need to do. And that alone is a limiting factor. That alone for me sort of hinders me from spending all the time my have with the people that matters.

I surely am enjoying this season in my life. I get to go on a vacation to any place that lures me at any time, sleep in until 12pm, or sleep as late as 4am. I can live for weeks with just fast food take outs, I can watch whatever movie that fascinated me on Netflix. Various simple things that I think I can no longer do with considering my partner’s thoughts and ideas.

Believe me, being single is really awesome. It makes you enjoy your own company. It allows you to love yourself more, pamper yourself, and be happy on your own. It’s when you truly enjoy this season in your life that you get to decide and prepare yourself on to the next season – whatever that might be. I am still a work-in-process though. I still have to fully learn to appreciated these things in my life. This is a season of learning, of appreciation, and of finding happiness within ourselves.

Let me end this with a quote Miya Yamanouchi:

“Don’t let society fool you into believing that if you don’t have a girlfriend or boyfriend then you’re destined for a life of misery. The Dalai Lama has been single for the last 80 years and he is one of the happiest people on earth. Stop searching for happiness in places outside of yourself, and start finding it where it has always been: within you.”
― Miya YamanouchiEmbrace Your Sexual Self: A Practical Guide for Women

According to Mandy Hale, “Single is the new fabulous!” Always remember that.

Stay in love! Stay in God’s love!

Dawn 🙂

Photo Credit: thesinglewoman.net

Author:

Expressing thoughts better through paper and ink (INTROVERT). Striving to follow the footsteps of Christ (CHRISTIAN). Choosing lyrics over rhythm; always choosing county songs (COUNTRY SONG LOVER). Dreaming of setting foot in all islands of the world (WANDERLUST).

Leave a Reply

