Posted in Food for Thoughts

Day 4:Your Biggest Fear as a Single Person

Day-4My biggest fear as a single person.

When I took this 30-day blogging challenge, I didn’t go through all the blogging topics because I wanted to be spontaneous and deal with the daily topic as it comes. And today’s topic is really pressing, something that I wanted to elude or disregard for I am still in the process of convincing everyone, myself included, that being single is okay. That I am fine with being on my own.

Well, don’t get me wrong. Being single at this point in my life is AWESOME because I own my time. That is one of the best perks of being a single and independent woman. But I am not getting any younger and soon enough, the reality would hit me. I also need to have my own family, to have my own kids. I also want to experience that feeling of being called a mother.

At this point in my life, at this season where I am celebrating my being single, a nagging fear is pressing at the back of my mind. This fear that I kept on dismissing, that I have hidden at the deepest corners of my heart. I am the type of person who believe that we all deserve the best things in life, love included. I have these so-called “standards” of the person that I would want to be with forever. And the first thing that I would want for that person to possess is not intelligence nor wealth, but a huge heart where God resides. I wanted to have someone who will bring me closer to God as I get closer to him, someone who loves God more than he loves me.

Seeing how this world and present generation are being shaped, I fear that I might not be able to find this man. I am afraid that these set of “standards” will hinder me from finding someone and will keep me single for the rest of my life. I am afraid that this world has turned every single guy away from God and that no single and eligible guy will ever possess that huge heart and great love for God. I am scared that my standards are too high that no one will be able to meet but I am more afraid to lower down these standards and settle for what’s available.

Am I asking too much? Am I setting the bar too high? I guess not. I know this is not too much to ask, especially when the petition is sent through prayers to God. It helps me a lot that I have this strong relationship with Him because every prayer comes with a sense of overwhelming assurance that all these fears don’t come from God and that I have nothing to be afraid of. Even though at times I am faced with the impossible, I believe God can turn things around. NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE WHEN WE BELIEVE.

Lay down all your fears to God. He will comfort you.

Stay in Love! Stay in God’s love.

Dawn 🙂

 

Author:

Expressing thoughts better through paper and ink (INTROVERT). Striving to follow the footsteps of Christ (CHRISTIAN). Choosing lyrics over rhythm; always choosing county songs (COUNTRY SONG LOVER). Dreaming of setting foot in all islands of the world (WANDERLUST).

Leave a Reply

