Posted in Food for Thoughts

Day 8 : Five Things That Are Most Important To You In A Future Mate

Five Things That Are Most Important To You In A Future Mate

We all have preferences – or maybe others would refer to them as standards – on whom we want to spend the rest of our lives with. I, myself would want to refer to them too as standards. Attitudes or characteristics that I would want him [my future mate] to possess. You may call me idealistic or whatever but I prefer to stick to these characteristics and hoping that one day, someday, God will allow our paths to cross and I would be checking these characteristics on my checklist. I am hoping against all hopes, though how idealistic it may seem that someone out there still exists bearing these so-called standards.

1. He must be Christ-centered.

He loves Christ. He has passion to serve Christ. He loves Christ more than he loves me. And he must bring me closer to Christ.

2. He loves to sing.

Even if he cannot hit the right notes. (Haha!) I really don’t care if he has a great singing voice or if he just has a voice fully suited in a shower concert, as long as he has the desire to sing. I love having karaoke and it would definitely be awesome if I would have someone to fight the microphone with. I mean, its fun to have karaoke sessions on my own but I think its great to share that moment with someone who has the same passion. I don’t have a great singing voice too, I just have the overflowing guts to belt in front of the karaoke.

3. He loves outdoor activities.

By outdoor, I mean trekking, hiking, random road trips, or even late night trip to the beach to watch the stars – or the extremes like Ziplines, bungee jumps, rope courses, or even para-sailing and sky diving. I am hoping to find someone who will  support my love for extreme activities. I’m hoping to share these adventures and misadventures with him. I’m not saying that he should be as crazy as I am about heights. All I wanted is someone who will be there for me. He need not jump off the helicopter with me. All I wanted is for him to be there waiting for me when my feet hits solid ground, ready with a huge hug and the camera!

4. He knows how to cook.

I don’t expect him to be a five-star chef. As long as he can make a meal from scratch and try to stay away from Chinese takeouts or canned goods, I’m fine with that. I love to cook and I want to share my love for cooking with him. Only someone who knows how to cook can understand the dilemmas of a Chef.

5. He should accept my every quirks and all my insanity moments.

I am totally an insanely sane person. I have my moments of weridness. I usually stay silent when I’m mad. I don’t want to deal with the issue if I still have raging emotions inside. It’s not that I don’t want to talk about it, I just prefer to deal with it when I’m already level headed. That way I can avoid raising my voice or bringing up past issues. I love to sleep in, and by that I mean staying in bed until 1pm. I hope he can accept that. I am also a book person, I could go on hours with my head buried in the pages of a book without speaking or minding the other person in the house. I hope he will accept that. I am not ignoring him, I’m just too engrossed with the material in my hand. And I could stay as late as 5am reading the book. I hope he won’t mind if I slept in until 3pm.

I could go on with a long list of my preference –  or standards. But I cannot do that here. I wanted my future mate to discover those things as we go along. You see, I am not totally against the idea of being in a relationship or is advocating Singleness. My outcry is that we should learn to celebrate each moment of our lives – whether with someone else or with our own company.

Let me end this with a quote:

“Happiness cannot come from without. It must come from within.” -Helen Keller

Being in a relationship or being single is all about being happy. And you can never find true happiness from anywhere else except deep within you.

Stay in love! Stay in God’s love!

Dawn 🙂

 

 

Author:

Expressing thoughts better through paper and ink (INTROVERT). Striving to follow the footsteps of Christ (CHRISTIAN). Choosing lyrics over rhythm; always choosing county songs (COUNTRY SONG LOVER). Dreaming of setting foot in all islands of the world (WANDERLUST).

Leave a Reply

