Posted in Food for Thoughts

Day 9: Your favorite “weird/funny single behavior” – Anything you do that is uniquely YOU and that living alone allows you to do

Your “funny/weird single behavior

We all have quirks and insane moments. We all have our own unique traits and chacteristic that make us who we are, an awesome and a beautiful creation of the Divine God who bestowed us with great abundance and bountiful blessings and opportunities.

So what is/are my funny/weird single behavior/s? Something that is uniquely me and that living on my own allows me to do. This is quite difficult because I haven’t had any chance of living on my own. Well, I live in an apartment and pay my own bills (but I still go home to my parents on long holidays and sometimes, on weekends) and I share the apartment with my single sister. So I’ve been pondering on the question for quite some time. And to be very honest, I have really some difficulty finding the answers to this topic. But I will answer this to the best way I can.

  1. I took longer time than usual to decide on what to wear. So, more often than not, I would end up trying different outfits on and leaving a huge heap of clothing on my bed. I think this is something that I cannot do when I’m living with someone else. Or maybe this behavior of mine needs a lot of getting used to especially to someone who plans to spend the rest of his life with me.
  2. I listen to country music, not the Taylor-Swift-type of county music, but of some random country music artist and never-been-heard-on-the-radio type of country songs that I happened to come across while on board the plane or from random searches on YouTube. I played it a little too loud sometimes on weekends/days off when I’m doing the laundry, cleaning the house, or navigating my way in the kitchen, or even when I just decide to be a couch potato and read my favorite books. (Yep! I listen to country music while reading books, it’s my way of multi-tasking. Haha!)
  3. I have this thing for books so I would just go to bookstores and second-hand shops looking for random books that I might find interesting. I could spend hours and hours in the bookstore just browsing through tons of books and end up not buying any. Yep! Weird right? But I am the type of person who finds happiness just by being surrounded with books. I think I cannot do this when I’m in a relationship because it would be sp infair to rob someone else’s time while I immersed myself in the bookworm world, except of course when the person I’m with share the same weirdness and love for books as I do.

As I am writing this, I just simply find it amazing that I have these weird behaviors that I’ve been doing all this time and which I thought are plainly normal. But looking at it in a “normal” view, someone will really find weird or funny. I could go on and on with a list of my quirks and weirdness but I think three items would suffice right now.

Funny how we sometimes live our lives without taking in how we are actually living it. You know what I mean?! When you just live your everyday making it through the end of it without taking time to enjoy each passing moment. This topic made me realize that I should pay more attention on the teenie-tiny bits and details of myself for me to be able to live a fuller life. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t about being self-centered. I believe this is more about finding the real me and  loving who I really am, and embracing the weirdness that made up my entire being, celebrating it, and  being happy about it.

Life is more about appreciating what you have while working on achieving what you dreamed of having. Life is appreciating and loving the real you while enhancing the best in you.

Celebrate your weirdness! Embrace it. It’s an awesome way to be happy.

Stay in love! Stay in God’s love!

Dawn 🙂

Author:

Expressing thoughts better through paper and ink (INTROVERT). Striving to follow the footsteps of Christ (CHRISTIAN). Choosing lyrics over rhythm; always choosing county songs (COUNTRY SONG LOVER). Dreaming of setting foot in all islands of the world (WANDERLUST).

Leave a Reply

